My budgeting life.

In October I had to learn how to start budgeting. How to buy the cheapest groceries and home essentials. I’ve done so well living on a budget of £20-25 a week sometimes going over when I’ve needed to buy home essentials.

Morrison’s have been my go to place not just because they’re so close to me, the quality of fruit an vegetables have never let me down and can stretch them for a week. The meat and chicken are great frozen or fresh. I ideally go fresh but I do have a stash of frozen meat and chicken to dip into. For home essentials I do tend to traipse the stores and online for cleaning essentials. I find B&M really good Asda and Aldi’s cleaning events are fantastic if you can afford to stock up.

I’m obsessed with simple cooking, I haven’t got the time to be mixing and measuring that’s not my style. But I do find getting great spices and stock really make a meal.

With the cold and flu season upon us our house Favourite soup is Şehriye soup (vermicelli soup)    

Steps: finely cut one onion, (red is a personal fave) add a cup of Vermicelli, Fry onion and Vermicelli till onion is browned add vegetable stock with 400ml boiled water, cover and stir occasionally. Once it’s 10 mins in add some salt and lemon juice to taste leave to simmer for another 5 add another 50ml of hot water if needed, leave to boil for another 5 and you have a delicious soup. #vermicelli #soup #cypriot #şehriyeçorbası #vegetarianrecipes #cookingonabudget #feelbetterfood #heartwarmingfood 

Thank you for reading

Please follow my Instagram @san_budget_cooks

Facebook @san_budget_cooks


4 thoughts on “My budgeting life.

Leave a comment